Chocolate is what we are all about. I am going to try and tell you a little bit about the wonderful creation called 'Chocolate'.
"May contain nuts" seems to appear on every product in a food shop, even when the product contains no nuts in its ingredients.
The reason is because the factory uses nuts elsewhere for other products and there is a chance, a tiny chance, that nuts may therefore be in the chocolate you are buying.
This notice makes you aware and beware.
You might be surprised at the statement "may contain milk" on the back of the darkest of dark chocolate. It is on the the ingredients of all our dark chocolates!
Rather like the issue of nuts described above, this is always added if the factory producing the chocolate also uses milk or milk solids elsewhere in the factory, for milk and white chocolate for instance.
In other words, the chance of milk or milk solids being in the chocolate is very low, as it is not a direct ingredient, but there maybe traces from the making of other chocolate.
If you are lactose intolerant, ignore milk and white chocolate and only go for plain or dark chocolate. But do check the ingredients for milk solids!
Do note the comments for Milk above. "May contain milk" is very common and means the chance of milk or milk solids being in the chocolate is very low as it is not a direct ingredient. There maybe traces from the making of other chocolate elsewhere in the factory.
Just a little note about chocolate and diabetics.
As the experts say...A diabetic eating chocolate may raise eyebrows amongst some people but within reason, chocolate need not be completely cut out of your diet.
Our experience suggests that high cocoa solid dark chocolate such as the World Chocolate Venezuelan or Tanzanian is the diabetic favorite.
Enjoy but do so at your own risk and be very careful!
All chocolate is gluten free. Do be aware that flavours and additives may not be so read the label as ever.